Hot Chocolate… Run?

This running business is getting quite serious.. I never really understood the fascination that people have with running and what would motivate them to run for hours or even days at a time. I am still not entirely sure what the driver is, but I am certainly becoming more and more interested in it! It may be driven by the increase food and sugar I have been ingesting since I have arrived… Peanut Butter Cups are now my enemy. I am only allowed them on weekends! But, also, it is an exercise I can do any

So, since my last blog about my running, I have completed a 15k run with my friends Michelle and Nerys.. named the ‘Hot Chocolate Run’ after the bowl of hot chocolate we received at the end .. the last thing we all wanted after the end of the race. We trekked into town (all of about 10 mins away) and met at the starting line at 645 in the morning! It was a grey morning and my first thought was from where I was standing at the starting line, there were a lot of hills! Anyone who has been to Coronado can confirm that there is a distinct lack of hills! So this run would be my first time having run 15 ks… and at hills. Well, I have done the City the Surf a couple of times, and honestly I just walked the hills.

Anyway, I have decided that if you are going to run these types of things, you should always run with friends. It certainly keeps me going.. instead of the internal dialogue I have to motivate myself from stopping, friends help pass the time and comment on the others running by.. oh and also where the best cinnamon buns are. it was wonderful to run down that last hill to see Ant and the boys waiting for us. The run was so well organised with a kids designated area where there were jumping castles, this country certainly caters really well for kids.

So, with 15ks done, the logical thing would be to do a half marathon. I think that if these runs only referred to the distance, I may be less concerned, but as a half marathon has the ‘m’ word in it, it seems more scary. So the it has taken me over a month to decide to join up for a half marathon in June! Can you believe it, me.. doing a half marathon?!! I can’t really believe it myself.. see you at the finish line after 21 kms!

Done  15kms!

Done 15kms!

IMG_6262

With our pretty unimpressed support crews

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. Awesome Clare!! I am very impressed!! It also gives me hope that I may one day be able to run again ha ha ha. Lots of love to you and your boys. Laura xx

Leave a comment